The Ridley Lions Club was chartered on February 2, 1978 by 25 community conscious people.
The club back then was strong and they did lots of projects around the large area that Ridley Lions covered, including in the towns of Swan Reach, Nildottie, Cambrai, Black Hill, Walker Flat and Sedan.
The Lions Club of Ridley got a write up in the Murray Valley Standard; Ridley Club on the rise, and was the fastest growing club in the district with the induction of six new members bringing membership numbers up to 15. That was back in 2013.
This advertising feature is sponsored by the following businesses. Click on the links to learn more:
Since then, the club has seen diminishing numbers, and now has a small club of seven.
Zone chairperson Carolyn Kilpatrick has inducted two new members in February and another is to be inducted in March. The club will then boast a membership of 10.
Ridley Lions meet once a month, either at the Lions’ den, in Swan Reach or at different locations as required.
The club had a newsletter called the Ridley Stripper.
The newsletter was named as a tribute to the stripper harvester that mechanised the reaping of wheat, which was invented in 1843 by miller John Ridley.
Some of the club’s projects include the John Gregory Memorial Playground at Nildottie, the Sedan Men’s Shed, Meldanda at Cambrai, and a free Christmas luncheon in December each year for the over 70s and the disadvantaged.
Last year the club applied for disaster relief funding for two families in the area, who had lost their homes in fires. They were ever so grateful for the grant money.
Ridley members are always ready to help individuals or the community as a whole in any way they can.
Each and every member is proud to say they are Lions.