Hammond boundary drawn for 2018 South Australian election

Murray Bridge, Mannum, Tailem Bend, Karoonda and Lameroo may all be part of the same electorate at the 2018 state election.

All would fall into Hammond, Adrian Pederick’s electorate, if the Electoral District Boundaries Commission’s proposed changes become final.

Mannum is currently in Schubert, Stephan Knoll’s electorate, while Lameroo and Karoonda are in Chaffey, held by Tim Whetstone.

Meningie will remain in MacKillop, Mitch Williams’ electorate, either way.

Opposition Leader Steven Marshall has indicated he believes the boundary changes are unfair, as they project that the Liberal Party would lose an election in a landslide if the statewide vote were split 50-50.

He told a gathering in Murray Bridge last week that the party would fight the proposed changes in court if necessary.