Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission puts Murray Bridge, Tailem Bend, Mannum, Karoonda, Mallee in one state electorate: Hammond, held by Adrian Pederick

After the next state election, the Member for Hammond - currently Adrian Pederick - will be able to speak for almost all Murraylands voters.
After the next state election, the Member for Hammond - currently Adrian Pederick - will be able to speak for almost all Murraylands voters.

Like the carol says: someday soon, we all will be together.

Almost all of the Murraylands' voters will be reunited in one electorate from 2018 after the commission charged with adjusting state boundaries made its final decision on December 8.

Mannum and surrounds, which had been part of Schubert, and the Karoonda East Murray and Southern Mallee districts, which were in Chaffey, will become part of Hammond at the next state election.

As a result, those areas – plus Murray Bridge and most of the Coorong district – will have a single voice speaking for them in the next state parliament.

Barring a surprise at Liberal Party preselection or on polling day, or a successful Labor Party challenge of the commission’s ruling, that voice will likely be the booming bass of Adrian Pederick, who will throw his broad-brimmed hat into the ring once again.

"I'd like to think I've worked hard and represented the electorate well since 2006, and I want the opportunity to go on in 2018," he said.

Although candidates will be free to challenge Mr Pederick for the Liberal nomination for Hammond, he said he had not heard of anyone who wanted to do so.

He credited his continued advocacy for the sale of railway land in Murray Bridge, which is finally going ahead after nearly a decade of talks; the Gifford Hill racecourse development; The Bend Motorsport Park; and Coorong and Lower Lakes fishers afflicted by fur seals.

"It has been good to achieve those things in opposition, but I'd like to have the opportunity to serve in government," he said.

In pursuit of that aim, he said the recent boundary adjustment was “about as close to fair as we can get”.

I'd like to think that ... finally we've got a fair redistribution.

Adrian Pederick

The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission is required to reshape electorates in such a way that, if historical voting patterns hold true, whichever party receives the most votes across South Australia should win the most seats and form government.

The Liberals have not governed South Australia since 2002 despite winning a majority of votes, on a two-party preferred basis, in three of the past four elections.

Despite the changes elsewhere, Meningie, Coonalpyn and Tintinara will remain in the South East electorate of MacKillop.

The MP for that electorate, Mitch Williams, will retire at the upcoming election, paving the way for someone new to step into the safe seat.

The next state election will be held on March 17, 2018.


Discuss "Murraylands voters to get single voice"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.