Murray Towns Cricket Association round 15 reports

Out: Monarto wicketkeeper Cameron Schubert gets the ball to the wickets, sending Rambler batsman Peter Tabe back to the pavillion. Photo: William Bailey.

Out: Monarto wicketkeeper Cameron Schubert gets the ball to the wickets, sending Rambler batsman Peter Tabe back to the pavillion. Photo: William Bailey.

A grade

Jervois v Wanderers

The Beaumont memorial game did not disappoint spectators. 

The Wanderers won the toss and elected to bat first.

Tyler Miller and Noel Hartman opened the batting, Hartman was the first batsman to fall early in the match, he made four before being bowled by Andrew Penhall.

Miller was next to fall, Daniel Gilmour claimed his wicket before he was able to get a score on the board.

Jalen Kowalick was outstanding with the bat leading the way for his beloved Wanderers side finishing up on 50, not out

Dylan Hollitt and Phil Scheer where both able to dig in, helping the Woo-hoo’s to bat out their 50 overs.

Hollitt finished up with 54 while Scheer finished up 26 not out.

Ryan Hutchesson and Ryan Morris were the other batsman to make it in to double figures, making 10 and 11 runs respectively.

 Andrew Penhall and Daniel Gilmour took two wickets each while Dwayne Groves, Zack Nock and Ben Dawson each took one.

Jervois had their turn at bad and had a target of 198 to chase down, which wasn’t going to be an easy feat.

Gilmour and Ashley Schutt opened the batting, Schutt was first to fall being trapped, LBW by Sam Robinson for 15 runs.

Gilmour was named as the best player on the ground taking home the Greg Beaumont trophy.

He made 123 not out, which helped get Jervois home in the 48th over.

Craig Fidge ended the day on 16, not out.

Adam Elphick took two wickets for 32 from 10 overs, while Sam Robinson and Ryan Hutchesson took one wicket each.

Mypolonga v Mannum

Mannum batted first in their clash with Mypolonga.

It’s not often that Dwayne Krollig and Josh Hancock fail to put pressure on the scoreboard but this week they made eight and one respectively.

Simon Williams also was dismissed early on for 11 runs in an LBW by James Moss.

Zac Muirhead was the best with the bat for Mannum making 36 until Moss claimed his wicket as well.

Nick Linder second top scored for the Kookas, making 16 and Shane Rathjen made 15.

Mannum was bowled out for 118 from 49 overs.

Aaron Zrim was again the best bowler for Mypo taking five wickets for 18 runs from 10 overs.

Moss took three wickets, Brady Wrigleys and Regan Gotch both took one wicket each.

It was Mypo’s turn to bat and Dwayne Krollig claimed the wicket of in-form Jared Marston.

It look like strife for Mypolonga early as they were just one for one.

Young gun Sam Elliott was the best with the bat, he batted until the last wicket fell, making 53 until Hancock trapped him LBW.

He almost got the Tigers over the line but just fell short by nine runs.

Jason Daniell was the only other batsman to make it in to double figures, making 11 when Zac Muirhead took his wicket.

Dwayne Krollig took three wickets, Tanner Evens, Josh Hancock and Zac Muirhead took two each and Simon Williams took one.

Imperials v Karoonda

Imperials won the toss and batted first.

The Blues lost unlucky batsman Justin Fullgrabe for a duck from 13 balls.

Arlo Davis dug in for the Blues proving to be their best batsman of the day, he made 15 from 46 balls showing the grit required to play in the seniors.

Nathan Williams was the only other batsman to make it in to double figures, making 12 as Imperials were bowled out for 75.

Zakk Bullard was the best with the ball for Karoonda taking three wickets for 21 runs from 10 overs, including five maidens.

Rhys Bullard and Shane Paech both took two wickets, Josh Rudiger and Bradley Kielow each took one.

It was Karoonda’s turn to bat and when Nathan Williams delivered his second ball, the Blues were up and about as Rhys Bullard was dismissed for a duck.

Elliott Wegner was the next to fall for six from 16 balls.

Jack Norman fell next after a cameo performance in the field by Brayden Dalitz who ran Norman out for 15.

Shane Paech was the best with the bat making 21 from 29 balls faced, Ryan Peach was also in good touch with the bat making 20 not out from 21 balls.

Karoonda chased down Imperials’ total 5/76 from 22 overs.

Nathan Williams was best with the ball taking three for 31 from 10 overs and Ben Gilgen took one wicket.

Meningie v Tailem Bend

Meningie won the toss and batted first.

Matt Hera-Singh and James Lawson opened for the Bears and Hera-Singh was first to fall, bowled for five by Jeff O’Connell.

Lawson continued on, making 15, bringing the score to 2/42 when he was dismissed.

Stewart Williss and Brad Biddle then put on 160 runs together.

Willis was denied a half-century and dismissed for 49 by Jarred Merritt.

Brad Biddle was a standout with the willow in hand, making his second century for the season and finishing up with 113 runs.

Meningie batted out their 50 overs, making 5/235.

Jarred Merritt was brilliant with the ball taking four for 30 from nine overs, Jeff O’Connell the only other wicket taker.

Tailem got off to a bit of a slow start, losing a couple of cheap wickets leaving scores at 3/28.

Josh Gerlach hit his best score for this season making 63, not out, batting out the 50 overs.

Paul Baxter got another start for the season making 15 and Jeff O’Connell made 10, but Tailem fell 75 runs short in the end.

Tyson Bradley and Daniel Perks both took two wickets each, Hugh Mason, Jack Richards and James Lawson each took one.

Monarto v Ramblers

Ramblers won the toss and batted first but struggled early on, losing 3/14.

Karson Allen was the best with the bat for the Rambler side, making 28 before being dismissed by Peter Gibson.

Alex Button also got another start making 18 and Matt Brooks made 11.

The Ramblers batsmen were all out in the 38th over with 92 runs.

Peter Gibson and Harry Miles were both in good form with the ball, they both took three wickets each.

Brad Lienert, Harry Webb and Mark Rothall all claimed one each.

It was Monarto’s turn to bat and Daniel Mathews and Jacob Rance made light work of the total that the Reds set them.

Jacob Rance made 52, not out, taking a liking to the Ramblers bowling attack and continuing on with the good form from previous weeks.

Daniel Mathews got another start for the season making 25 and Harry Webb finished up on 17, not out as Monarto chased down the total in 12.5 overs.

Tom Paech took the only wicket for Ramblers.