Speedway ready for Easter action

Photo: William Bailey.
Photo: William Bailey.

This Easter long weekend the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway at Murray Bridge will host the first of two Australian Championships with the Australian Formula 500 Championship being conducted over two big nights of racing, kicking off on Easter Friday.

The National Championship has attracted more than 70 drivers from right across the country including a whole host of previous and current State and Australian Champions.

Liam Williams of Queensland will put his number one on the line and he will be tough to beat as he has been in great form this season completely dominating the events in his home state in addition to his runner-up finish at his only Murray Bridge start this season.

It won’t be an easy task for the dual National Champion to go back to back with his greatest competition likely to come from Victoria as the nomination list from the Garden State comprises of at least 10 potential winners.

The major Victorian contenders includes Jack Bell, who won the 65 Roses Feature a fortnight ago, Chris Bellman who is the King of the Bridge Champion, former Australian Champion Dylan Willsher, former Victorian Champion James Aranyosi, veteran Stephen Bell, Grant Stansfield, Terry Rankin, Dion Bellman and Dale and Ash Sinclair.

It won’t be an easy task for the dual National Champion to go back to back with his greatest competition likely to come from Victoria

In addition to the strong Victorian entry, the field also comprises of several leading drivers from Western Australia, New South Wales, Tasmania, the Northern Territory and Queensland along with the local contingent headed by Angelo Karoussis, Patrick Merritt, Brad Stell and Jordan Mansell.

Among the other intestate drivers to keep an eye on will be Western Australia’s Adrian Heywood and Steven Ellement, Tasmania’s Kristian Kelly and Matt Redpath and Queensland’s Kristin Brown, Ryan McNamara, Alan Iverson and Lexi Underwood.

The Friday night program will also include V6 Sprints and Junior Sedans.

On night two on Saturday, the title event will see two champions crowned.

In addition to the Australian Formula 500 Championship final, the program will also include the 2017 South Australian Speedcar Title with more than 20 nominations.

The field comprises of some of the best Speedcar drivers in Australia including Sydney’s Nathan Smee, current Western Australian Champion Dayne Kingshott, Western Australia’s Todd Waddell, New South Wales’ Adam Wallis, Victoria’s Andy Pearce and Travis Mills, Queensland’s Anthony Chaffey, Australian Capital Territory’s Michael Stewart and exciting teenager Kaidon Brown from NSW.

Saturday night will also see the Modlites in support.

  • Admission prices: Adults $20, pensioners $15, Children aged 13-15 $10, Family Pass (two adults, two children) $50 and Kids 12 and under free.
  • Gates open at 2pm.