WA Country Football League name 2017 squad to face South Australia

The WA Country Football League has announced a 30 man state country squad ahead of next Saturday night’s interstate clash against South Australia at Fremantle Community Bank Oval. 

Head coach Craig Walker and his selection panel finalised the squad following the recent Landmark Country Football Championships. 

A number of players will make their state country debuts in a side that will be lead by captain Scott Worthington and vice-captain Brendon Jones.

Former AFL players Greg Broughton, Josh Bootsma and Brett Peake bring significant experience to the squad.

2016 members Worthington, Jones, Matt Orzel, Lewis Harvey, Matt Dickie, Brad Holmes, Eddie Dann and Jordan McAllister return to the squad of 30 that includes Jurien Bay trio Rhys Waters, Simon Moore and Jayden Magro who were also part of the successful division two Central Midlands Coastal side at the recent Landmark competition. 

Walker is confident that the squad has the potential to turn the tables on their South Australian counterparts but said selecting the final 22 will be even more difficult. 

“We put out a much-improved showing last year but left disappointed that we didn’t get the win. The selectors and I are confident that we can continue on that improvement and ensure that the silverware stays in WA,” he said. 

The final 22 will come together next Friday evening for a training run and jumper presentation ahead of the clash the next evening at 5pm following the South Fremantle and West Perth WAFL fixture.

30 man squad

Mitch Boyle (Railways, GNFL), Joel Dalwallinu (Dalwallinu, MFL), Brendon Jones VC (Harvey, SWFL), Andrew Haydon (South Mandurah, PFNL), Eddie Dann (Baldivis, PFNL), Matt Orzel (North Albany, GSFL), Steven Payne (Augusta-Margaret River, SWFL), Scott Worthington (Boulder, GNFL), Courtney Lakay (Waroona, PFNL), Josh Bootsma (Katanning, UGSFL), Simon Moore (Jurien Bay, CMCFL), Brad Holmes (South Mandurah, PFNL), Lewis Harvey (Cervantes, CMCFL), Matthew Buxton (Centrals, PFNL), Will Oelsnik (Eaton, SWFL), Mason Hislop (South Bunbury, SWFL), Greg Broughton (Toodyay, MFL), Michael Russell (Eaton, SWFL), Brett Peake (Bunbury, SWFL), Arron Russell (Wongan-Ballidu, MFL), David Johnston (Wagin, UGSFL), Joel Houghton (Collie, SWFL), Blake Borrett (York, AFA), Matt Dickie (Newman Tigers, NNFL), Rhys Waters (Jurien Bay, CMCFL), Jayden Magro (Jurien Bay, CMCFL), Dylan Ross (Wickepin, UGSFL), Jordan McAllister (Ravensthorpe, RDFA), Tyson Phillips (Halls Head, PFNL), Karl Zis (Rovers, GNFL). 

This story WA Country Football League name 30 man squad for 2017 first appeared on Bunbury Mail.