AgriFutures Rural Women's Award: applications now open

South Australian rural women are urged to apply for the 2018 AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award, which recognises emerging leaders in primary industries and regional communities.

Applications are open until October 29.

The SA winner will be announced at a ceremony as part of the Thriving Women Conference on February 19, 2018.

Applications for 2018 no longer need a specific project to be considered eligible, and can be submitted based on an idea, identified problem or opportunity.

Commercially focused projects and initiatives will also be considered.

2017 runner-up Simone Kain said, “Applications for 2018 are now open, and I highly recommend entering.

“The 2018 awards will allow commercial projects that you’re able to profit from, which is a really exciting change.”

Each state and territory winner will receive a $10,000 bursary from Westpac to bring their idea or project to life as well as access to professional development opportunities.

They will also represent their state at the national awards in September 2018, where the winner and runner-up will receive a further $10,000 and $5,000, respectively.

The Rural Women’s Award (formerly the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation – RIRDC – Rural Women’s Award) is open to all women involved in primary industries or rural Australia.

Formal qualifications are not required and applicants do not have to be from a rural area to apply; they only need to be involved in primary industries or their rural community.

Agriculture, Food and Fisheries Minister Leon Bignell said, “The Rural Women’s Award is a terrific platform to recognise the significant contribution women make to primary industries and rural communities.

“It creates opportunities and empowers a new generation of female leaders.

“I am consistently impressed by the commitment and drive of South Australia’s rural women and have no doubt competition this year will be tough.

“We have a strong history of success, including national winners Sarah Powell in 2015 and Mary Retallack in 2012, and national runners-up Simone Kain in 2017 and Abi Spehr in 2007.”

Applications close at 8:30pm on Sunday October 29, 2017.

For more information or to apply for the award, visit the website:


Discuss "Rural award open for women"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.