Clark crowned

CHAMPIONS: The Monarto Clay Target Club category winners. Photo: Supplied.
CHAMPIONS: The Monarto Clay Target Club category winners. Photo: Supplied.

A full weekend of competition was held at the Monarto Clay Target Club on October 21 and 22 with the feature event being the inaugural Iraq and Afghanistan Remembrance Cup.

Some months ago, this event was suggested to club members by committee-man Ryan Foster, a three-time veteran of campaigns to Afghanistan with the Australian Army.

The club welcomed the idea and Ryan then proceeded to have an overall trophy made, with the names of those who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty, giving great meaning to the trophy.

Saturday’s competition began with the Monarto 50 target Skeet Championship which was won overall by AA and A Grade competitor Nathan Campbell, with his score of 62/64. B Grade went to Rito Borzillo on 55/58 and C Grade was taken out by Len DeCandia on 55/62.

The second event, a 50 target Skeet Championship (shot in conjunction with the Bill Quinn three-man Team Shield) was won overall by AA and A grade shooter Lynton Schubert with his perfect score of 50/50.

B Grade went to Peter Kay who shot a 63/68 and C grade was taken out by Steve Rogers with a 47/50.

The Bill Quinn Shield was won by the three-man team from the International Club.

Team members were Nathan Campbell, C. Langley and Rito Borzillo with their combined score of 137/150.

Light rain fell for the start of the inaugural 100 target Double Barrel Iraq and Afghanistan Remembrance Cup event on Sunday. 39 competitors took to the tracks in the cool, overcast conditions which slowly improved throughout the day.

Overall winner of the Remembrance Cup was Monarto Clay Target Club member Rob Clark who shot a score of 129/130.

AA grade winner was Dino Oliviero on 128/130, A Grade went to Robert Dower on 97/100, Lee Kerr (Club member) took out B grade on 89/100 and C grade went to Junior shooter Harry Cranendonck on 90/100.

Lisa Smith on 97/100 took the Ladies trophy, Molly Bretag won the Junior trophy on 89/100 and Peter Claridge took out the Veteran’s trophy with his 85/100.

The Overall High Gun for the two days of competition went to Lynton Schubert with his score of 197/208.