Murray Bridge pensioners hold last meeting for 2017

Photo: Peri Strathearn.
Photo: Peri Strathearn.

The Murray Bridge branch of the SA Pensioners Association held their social afternoon on November 22 in the John Dohler Hall at 31 Swanport Road, Murray Bridge.

President Irene Mitchell opened by welcoming all members and gave a special welcome to visitors Elizabeth Whitman and Diane Dibbens.

Thanks to Heather Payne on piano we opened with the singing of the Song of Australia, our Pensioners’ Prayer and the club song.

Birthdays for December and January were announced.

One special lady, Vi Evans, was given a cake for her 90th birthday and given a card; also, other members were given a card and wished happy birthday, and all sang the birthday song to them.

A long list of apologies was read out.

The only business was announcing our Christmas party bus trip, which took place on Friday just past, December 8.

A raffle prepared by Sue Campbell was then drawn.

The winners of door prizes were Yvonne Daniels, Diane Dibbens, Kevin Dabinett, Joy Ratcliffe and Laurel Mitchell.

A special Christmas raffle was won by Kevin Ricketts, Helen Hollick and Emily Mitchell.

The auctioneer was Ian Hollick, doing his usual good job.

Thanks to all who donated goods.

Two new members had their badges pinned on by the president and were given a big welcome, namely Max Butterfield and Joy Ratcliffe, before our entertainment started.

The president thanked committee members for their hard work in the past year – they are what keeps this club moving – and to members who help, a big thank you.

The president thanked committee members for their hard work in the past year – they are what keeps this club moving.

We were then entertained by Maxi K with Christmas carols that were so good and so enjoyed by all.

“Fantastic” sums it up.

Wishing all a happy Christmas and safe, healthy and happy new year, 2018.