Coonalpyn silo art, Murray Bridge waterslides and Imperials' undefeated season: 2017's most memorable occasions

Twenty seventeen was a year for memorable occasions.


2: An earthquake of magnitude 3.7, with an epicentre 10 kilometres beneath Riverglades, shook the Murraylands just after midnight.


19: Mypolonga won the Murray Towns Cricket Association's A grade premiership.

19: Murray Bridge Blue ended a seven-year title drought in Lower Murray bowls' top division.

28: A mural painted on Coonalpyn's silos by artist Guido van Helten was unveiled.


1: About 150 young people gathered at Murray Bridge Town Hall for the public high school's formal, many wearing second-hand dresses or suits bought or donated through an Informal Formal Facebook group.

8: Experiment One won the Murray Bridge Battle of the Bands.

20: Six silhouettes, artistic interpretations of fields of wheat, were installed on Railway Terrace at Karoonda.

25: More than 1000 people gathered in Murray Bridge, and hundreds more elsewhere, to commemorate Anzac Day.


5: About 60 Unity College students and partners celebrated at their year 12 formal.

12: A helipad was opened at Mannum hospital.

17: The Murray Bridge Business Alliance was launched to replace three traders' groups.


28-29: School students, footballers and netballers united against domestic violence.


23: The Coorong Ratepayers' Group was formed.


16: Imperials completed an undefeated season to win their fourth straight RMNA premiership.

26: Underdogs Mypolonga won the RMFL grand final by 58 points.


20: Excites Zelady, trained by local Chris Bieg, won his third straight Murray Bridge Gold Cup.

30: Coonalpyn BP closed its doors.


4: Murray Bridge's new water playground opened.

16: Monarto Zoo's Lions 360 experience opened to the public.

25: Thousands lined the streets of Murray Bridge and filled Sturt Reserve for the city's Christmas pageant.


16: Tailem Bend's main street was filled with people for the town's Christmas parade.

18: The Ngarrindjeri people and others were formally recognised as the traditional owners of the Murraylands, Coorong and Fleurieu after 20 years of native title negotiations.


Discuss "2017’s most memorable occasions"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.