SA election 2018: pre-poll voting opens in Murray Bridge, ballot draws for Hammond, MacKillop conducted

What's your excuse?

Will you be working, travelling or caring for someone on March 17; or unable to get to a polling place because of illness, disability, advanced pregnancy, religion or because there isn't one within eight kilometres of your home?

If you choose to vote at a pre-poll centre, you must declare that you are unable to vote between 8am and 6pm on election day, and the Electoral Commission of South Australia will ask why.

Voters who can provide one of the reasons above will be able to cast their votes from 9am next Monday at the TAFE campus on Swanport Road, Murray Bridge.

The random draw to determine the order of candidates listed on the ballot paper for Hammond was held there at midday this Monday.

The Greens' Simon Hope will be first, followed by Liberal MP Adrian Pederick, Labor's Mat O'Brien, SA Best's Kelly Gladigau and the Conservatives' Declan Paton.

In MacKillop, SA Best's Tracy Hill took first spot on the ballot, followed by the Conservatives' Richard Bateman, independent John Ey, Labor's Hilary Wigg, the Liberals' Nick McBride and the Greens' Donella Peters.


Discuss "You can vote on Monday, as long as you have a good excuse"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.