Meyer Shield: Murray Towns up for the challenge

THE MURRAY Towns Cricket Association is preparing for their 2019 Meyer Shield campaign, kicking off on Saturday.

This year’s association tournament will be held by the Torrens Valley Cricket Association.

Debutant James Dawson.

Debutant James Dawson.

Competing associations include Alexandra and Eastern Hills, Great Southern, Hills, Kangaroo Island, Murray Towns and Torrens Valley.

The Murray Towns squad was reduced from 25 to 14 on Thursday night following the team’s final training.

The team will be coached by Kevin Smith, with Noel Hartman and Luke Hocking assistant coaches and Michael Trotter the team manager.

Trotter said selection was tough but ultimately, an even-balanced young squad was selected.

“We’ve rewarded blokes for good performances, the likes of (James) Dawson and (Sam) Robinson,” he said.

Trotter said Meyer Shield debutantes included Tailem Bend’s James Dawson, Mypolonga’s Brady Wrigley and Meningie’s John Zadow.

Murray Towns’ campaign starts against Torrens Valley at Birdwood at 10am on Saturday.


  • Aaron Zrim (C)
  • Dwayne Krollig (VC)
  • Jarred Martson
  • Jacob Rance
  • Ty Pfeiffer
  • Harrison Webb
  • Andrew Fidge
  • Sam Elliott
  • Sam Robinson
  • John Zadow
  • Brad Lienert
  • Lachlan Zrim
  • James Dawson
  • Brady Wrigley
Captain Aaron Zrim.

Captain Aaron Zrim.