Murray Towns cricket, February 9, 2019: Final four decided

With three rounds to go, the four finals-bound teams have been decided in Murray Towns A grade cricket.

Mannum, Monarto, Mypolonga and Wanderers will play off for glory in the semi-finals on March 9, leaving Meningie, Imperials and Tailem Bend with nothing but pride to play for this summer.

Wanderers v Monarto

Wanderers proved they were not to be taken for granted on Saturday, knocking Monarto off the top of the ladder with a 22-run win at Murray Bridge Showground.

Dylan Hollitt (89) made sure the home side posted a respectable score of 9/190 by working through a series of partnerships before falling not far short of a century.

Jarrad Kowald was Monarto's most successful bowler, claiming 4/58.

The Black Caps' reply got off to a poor start with the LBW dismissal of Daniel Mathews for two, but that just brought Ty Pfeiffer to the crease.

He teed off and made 90 himself but, like Hollitt, needed a succession of partners to do it.

Two mini-collapses of 3/3 in the middle order and 4/2 at the bottom brought an end to the match before Monarto could reach their target.

Dallas Binney (3/51) was one of several bowlers to do the damage for the Woo Hoos; three others had two wickets each.

The win cemented Wanderers' hold on the fourth and last finals spot, as Meningie now find themselves three and a half wins back.

Imperials v Tailem Bend

It has been a long summer for Tailem Bend, so their 40-run win against fellow cellar-dwellers Imperials would have been welcomed by the visitors at Johnstone Park.

Tailem won the toss and batted, and their top-order quartet all made contributions to a total of 5/160, led by Paul Baxter's unbeaten 56.

Imps bowlers Jack Gilgen and Andrew Penhall cleaned up the stumps twice each.

In reply, the home side held steady until the score reached 92, at which point they lost 7/16 to struggle to the end of their innings.

Opener Daniel Gilmour was the stand-out, making 44 before being run out.

Eight different players rolled the arm over for Tailem and most proved economical.

Adrian Lloyd took 3/15.

However, Imperials are still half a win higher on the ladder.

Mannum v Meningie

Mannum eased to a nine-wicket win over the visiting Lakesiders.

Meningie amassed 8/142 in their 50 overs after several batsmen reached double figures but none was able to post a big score.

Closest were John Zadow (27) and Brad Biddle (25).

Caden Evans (3/45) was both Mannum's deadliest and their most expensive bowler.

Nick Lindner and Dwayne Krollig each fell just short of milestones in Mannum's innings, the former not out on 83 and the latter caught for 48 off the bowling of Zadow, but their side passed its target in the 32nd over with just the one wicket down.

Krollig's score allowed him to pass Mypolonga's Jared Marston, who had the weekend off, for the association run-scoring lead.

The result knocked Meningie out of the finals race and returned Mannum to top spot on the ladder.