Elizabeth Minge succeeds Adrian Pergallini as Mobilong Rotary president

Mobilong Rotary Club has inducted a new president: Elizabeth Minge.

Family guests, community leaders and Rotarians, including district representatives, celebrated the event recently at the Riverscape Restaurant.

Included on the evening was district governor nominee David Jones, who reminded the gathering of the impact Rotary International is having towards making a better world.

The Rotary "End Polio Now" program was cited: 350,000 children were paralysed with polio in 1988; by 2017 this was down to 21 children, and currently polio exists in only two countries in the world.

An early highlight of the evening was the awarding of a Paul Harris Fellowship, Rotary's highest individual award, to Cynthia Nicholson, a former Mobilong member who has been involved in community work throughout her life.

While in Murray Bridge she provided great support to medical professionals moving into Murraylands communities.

Now, in retirement in Strathalbyn, she opens her home and substantial garden to raise funds for the Cancer Council's accommodation support for country families visiting Adelaide for treatment.

Outgoing president Adrian Pergallini reported on the achievements of Mobilong Rotary during the past year, the most recent of which was the placement of three defibrillators at Murray Bridge Marketplace.

Funds were also provided for many other projects, including a school breakfast progam, developments in a public park in association with council, and the continued safe cycling program.

Mr Pergallini particularly highlighted the Mobilong barbecue trailer commissioned this past year, which is now giving great service as it supports many community initiatives.

He also acknowledged the passing of charter president Harry Stephen who, for the almost 40-year history of the club, had served and mentored every club leader.

Mr Stephen epitomised the Rotary motto of "service above self".

The evening concluded with Ms Minge introducing the board which will lead Mobilong Rotary for the coming year.