RMFL award winners presented

Two exciting footballers have been given the honour of being named the River Murray Football League's fairest and best players for 2020.

Mannum Football Club's Adam Smyth and Will McMurray, from the Tailem Bend Football Club received their medal at the RMFL annual awards night on Monday, September 14 after polling 11 votes each.

McMurray, who comes from Keith, was also awarded as the league's best under 21 player.

Jervois midfielder Josh Woodall polled the most votes on the night with 14, but was ineligible due to suspension.

Imperials' Johnny Boras was officially named the league's leading goalkicker while Michael O'Malley, from Mannum was the best defender and Jervois player Joshua Scott was awarded Mark of the Year and Player of the Year.

The Duttons Team of the Year was announced:

  • Imperials - Johnny Boras, Dylan Hollitt, Luke Harrowfield, Tyson Wait, James Clarke, Louise DeMichele;
  • Jervois - Joshua Scott, Tony Gibson, Zane Barry, Joshua Woodall;
  • Mannum - Liam Newton, Adam Smyth, Michael O'Malley, Jake Keller
  • Ramblers - Ben Dougall, Sam Pfeiffer, Aaron Pratt;
  • Tailem Bend - Ben Hansen, William McMurray, Dale Finnie;
  • Mypolonga - James Moss, Rory Taggert;
  • Taite Silverlock, Jervois, was named Coach of the Year, with Mark Austin awarded Umpire of the Year.

Shane Cooke gave Mannum another reason to celebrate when he was announced the winner of the Lokan Medal for the reserves competition.

Mypolonga's Luke Bassani was runner-up in the reserves and Jervois' Ray Love was given the title of leading goalkicker.

The junior award winners were presented at the dinner, after an official count was held last week.

The Connolly Medal, presented to the best and fairest under 17.5 player was given to Ramblers' Brayden McDonald, with team-mate Lual Kelei and Mypolonga's Bodi Stewart runners-up.

Jervois' Naite Chandler was the Bryan medallist for 2020 with Mannum's Declan Gladigau runner-up.

Leading goalkickers were Tailem Bend's Jacob Wilson in under 17.5 and Chad Reschke, Mannum, in the under 15 competition.

There were six player life memberships given during the evening with Kym McFee, Bruce Kuchel, Michael O'Neil and his son Patrick O'Neil, from Ramblers and Terry Connolly and John Connolly, from Tailem Bend.

The Lyall Parker Trophy was awarded to the Jervois Football Club, for the first time in the club's history.

Subscribe to the FREE Murray Valley Standard newsletter which will be delivered to your inbox every Monday, at 12.30pm.