Nominate a Mid Murray hero for Australia Day award

Phillip Graetz, centre, was Mid Murray Council's 2020 Citizen of the Year. Photo: File.

Phillip Graetz, centre, was Mid Murray Council's 2020 Citizen of the Year. Photo: File.

Who is someone from the Mid Murray district who you think deserves more recognition?

Now is the chance to help them be acknowledged for their efforts and achievements, as nominations for the council's Australia Day Awards are open.

There are five awards up for grabs: Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Community Event of the Year, Youth Achievement, and Award for Active Citizenship.

The various categories give a scope for all types of achievers to win an award, whether it be a hardworking volunteer, a local leader, a young star smashing goals, or residents who put their community first.

Mid Murray Council mayor Dave Burgess said people were one of the region's greatest assets, and they should be celebrated when possible.

"Volunteering and service to the community are values long embraced by Mid Murray residents," he said.

"One of the great strengths in our small towns and communities is the dedication of our residents to supporting others.

"We see this in all forms - from pulling on a CFS uniform to keep others safe, to coaching the junior footy team, taking care of the local environment or volunteering to drive our elderly or vulnerable residents to important appointments or medical care.

"Their selflessness and pride in serving others, combined with their welcoming and friendly nature, is a significant contributor to creating connected and resilient communities."

While the Youth Achievement Award was introduced for the first time this year, it is not the newest award on the list.

The Australia Day Council of South Australia has created a new category: the Award for Active Citizenship.

This award is designed to honour a person or group who has provided invaluable work, put on an event, or helped a cause during the extraordinary times of bushfires and COVID-19 this year.

Nominations for all awards close at 5pm on close Friday, November 20.

For more information and nomination forms, visit

The winners are announced at a morning tea held early in January before the annual Australia Day ceremony.

Subscribe to the FREE Murray Valley Standard newsletter which will be delivered to your inbox every Monday, at 12.30pm.