Meals on Wheels Murray Bridge marks milestones, elects committee

Volunteers were recognised for their years of service and a new committee was elected at the Meals on Wheels Murray Bridge AGM on Monday, December 14.

Meals on Wheels SA innovation projects manager Mark Kearns was on hand to present certificates, badges, and gifts to the volunteers who reached milestones during 2020.

Maureen Dew was given a certificate of appreciation for her dedication to the Murray Bridge branch.

Helen Schubert and Gwen Parbs both reached their 50th year with Meals on Wheels this year, while Kay Dougall and Margaret Warnest are five years behind, on 45 years each.

Pauline Thiele was recognised for her 30 years of service.

Those who reached 25 years were Elaine Atkins, Helen Bott, Vicki Courtney, Gay Hall, and Yvonne Patterson, while 20-year achievers were Aileen and Jeff Martin, Shirley Schubert, and Jill Woolford.

Volunteers who hit double digits were Robyn Grigulis, Ian Rowley, Bob Whisson, and Fay Wynne.

Five years of service awards went to Betty Coulthard, Lois Gravestocks, Geoffrey Ives, Chris Law, Betty Nulty, Ian Oats, Julia Scalzi, Graeme Searle, Pamela Valerio, and Norma Van Der Kamp.

Those who celebrated their first year with Meals on Wheels were Lynette Bald, Bianca Campbell, Marie Hoffmann, Kathy Lienert, Jenny Miell, Allan and Kathy Nicolle, Paul O'Connor, Michelle Saye, Nancy Steicke, and Glynnis and Wesley Taylor.

Mary Rowley, who was re-elected president of the Meals on Wheels Murray Bridge branch, thanked all the wonderful volunteers and encouraged them to bring along their friends.

"We are always looking for someone new to join, so if there's someone new in your street or you know someone newly-retired, we'd love to have them," she said.

The 2021 committee consists of Mary Rowley (president and secretary), Barb Green (vice president), Sandra Walding (treasurer and volunteer co-ordinator), Dot Temby and Maureen Klau (assistant volunteer co-ordinators), and members Lynette Juergens, Necia Schapel, Rosie Fuge, John Klau, Rob Allen, Gary Haibich, and Fay Wynne.