Blake wins Mail Medal

Mannum stalwart Blake Tabe is the latest footballer to join the elite list of River Murray Football League Mail medallists.

On Monday night, September 13, Tabe was named the 2021 Mail medallist after having a stellar year on field.

Positioned mostly in a back flank spot for the Roos, Tabe consistently reads the play well, having clean hands when gathering the loose ball.

Another feature of his work is the quick and accurate delivery of the ball to his team-mates, either by hand or by foot.

Tabe polled 22 votes in the league count, four votes in front of dual runners-up Ben Hansen, from Tailem Bend and Josh Scott, from Jervois.

Tabe was also awarded the league's Mark of the Year.

After kicking over 100 goals this year, Imperials' John Boras was the league's leading goal kicker.

Boras also received the inaugural Tony Modra Medal which will be awarded to the leading goalkicker across all regional SANFL community leagues.

Other award winners included Nick Westhoff for best ruckman; Mackenzie Hansen for best goal of the year; Ben Hansen was named best backman and Adam Diamond was the Daish Irrigation player of the year.

In the reserves competition Jay Williams, from Jervois, took home the Lokan Medal with 14 votes, while Imperials' Keelan White finished with 12.

Mypolonga's Wayne Hutchinson took out the goalkicking award for the reserve grade.

The Lyall Parker Shield, which represents the most games won in all of the football grades, was awarded to Tailem Bend.

The Duttons RMFL Team of the Year was announced with Tailem Bend's Ben Hansen given the role as playing coach.

Players are:

Jervois - Josh Scott, Zane Barry, Taite Silverlock, Josh Woodall, Adam Diamond, Tony Gibson, Tom Kluske

Imperials - John Boras, Sam DeMichele, Luke Harrowfield, James Clarke, Harley Montgomery

Tailem Bend - Jordan Bell, Dale Finnie, Mackenzie Hansen, Ben Hansen, Nick Westhoff

Mannum - Blake Tabe, Michael O'Malley

Ramblers - Aaron Pratt, Riley Vanson

Meningie - Sam Sanders

During the evening life memberships were bestowed upon a number of worthy recipients, some as retrospective.

Player and coach life memberships were awarded to Gary Attrill and Corey Smelt.

Attrill spent most of his RMFL involvement with the Jervois and Tailem Bend clubs, while Smelt began his playing career at the Eagles and went on to a variety of coaching roles.

Keith Medlow was given player life membership and Brett Lienert was rewarded for his time playing for Imperials and his dedication to umpiring.

Ken Coventry was awarded for his dedication to the league, especially in the work he has done as a tribunal member for many years.

  • More photos - page 23